Charged With a Thanksgiving Eve DUI? Here’s What You Should Know.


Thanksgiving is a time of celebration. Many of us celebrate the holiday by spending time with our friends and families. It’s not uncommon for people to celebrate Thanksgiving Eve and Thanksgiving itself by having a drink or two. This is completely fine, as long as no one gets behind the wheel of a motor vehicle afterward. Unfortunately, many people make this mistake, and if they are pulled over and suspected of driving while under the influence, the officer will most likely require the person to take a breathalyzer test. If you blow .08% or higher, you will receive a DUI. If this has happened to you, you should continue reading and reach out to our experienced Escambia County criminal defense lawyer to learn more about Thanksgiving Weekend DUIs and how our firm can help fight your charges at every turn. Here are some of the questions you may have:

What are the penalties for a first-offense DUI in Florida?

If you are convicted of a first-offense DUI in Florida, you can expect to face a wide array of penalties. These penalties can impact your life for years down the road. Some of the consequences for a first-offense DUI in Florida are as follows:

  • A driver’s license suspension for anywhere between 180 days and one year
  • Up to six months of incarceration
  • A fine of $1,000
  • Up to one year of probation
  • The installation and use of the ignition interlock device in your vehicle
  • Up to 50 hours of community service, or $10 in lieu of each hour of community service

What happens if I am arrested for a second DUI in Florida?

For a second DUI within five years of your first DUI, you will face even harsher penalties and be treated as a repeat offender. For a second DUI in Florida, you will face the following:

  • Up to 9 months of incarceration
  • A driver’s license revocation for at least five years
  • The installation and use of the ignition interlock device for at least two years
  • A 30-day vehicle impoundment
  • A potential $2,000 fine

How long will I go to jail for a third DUI in Florida?

If you receive a third DUI in Florida, you can expect to spend anywhere between 30 days and five years in jail. You will also face a $5,000 fine, a 10-year driver’s license revocation, two years with the ignition interlock device, and a 90-day vehicle impoundment. Our firm is here to fight these charges at every turn.


For decades, the Law Office of James M. Burns has helped countless people through a wide array of legal issues, including those involving criminal law, family law, personal injury law, and will & probate law. If require the assistance of a competent legal team that can effectively guide you through each phase of your legal matter, you’ve come to the right place. Contact the Law Office of James M. Burns today to schedule your initial consultation.