Will I Have to Get the Ignition Interlock Device for a DUI in Florida?

handcuffs car keys and an alcohol

Do you need an ignition interlock device (IID) installed in your car? In Florida, drivers with illegal substance-related driving infractions are required to operate a vehicle with an IID. If you have been ordered to install an ignition interlock device for a DUI in Florida talk to a trusted Pensacola DUI defense lawyer. An important reason for implementing ignition interlock devices is to reduce the DUI rate and increase public safety.

Will I Be Required to Install the Ignition Interlock Device for a DUI in Florida?

Florida statutes require ignition interlock devices to be installed on the vehicles of persons convicted of driving under the influence (DUI). Penalties are more severe if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is at a high level. According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, if an individual’s BAC was 0.15% or above they are required to install an IID. If that individual had a minor present in the vehicle or has had previous DUI convictions they are required to have an IID.

What is an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)?

An ignition interlock device (IID) is a breathalyzer that measures an individual’s breath alcohol content. It requires the driver to blow into a mouthpiece on the device before operating a vehicle. This device prevents a motor vehicle from being started until the operator provides an acceptable breath sample under the required blood alcohol levels. The IID can only detect alcohol. The intention of the IID is to reduce repeat offenses for driving while intoxicated.

How Long Will I Have to Use It?

In Florida, if an IID is ordered by the court, the system must be installed on every motor vehicle the individual owns or operates. If it is your first conviction and your BAL is .15% or above, or if a minor was present in the car, you will be required to use the IID for at least 6 months. If it is your second conviction, it will result in using it for at least 1 year. If this is your second conviction and your BAL is 0.25% or above, or a minor was present in the car then you will be required to use it for at least two years. If this is your third conviction, you are required to use the device for at least two years. If you have four or more convictions, you will be required to drive with an IID for at least 5 years.

What Happens If I Blow a BAC Above the Legal Limit With the Ignition Interlock Device?

If the alcohol concentration sample exceeds 0.05%, the engine of your vehicle will not operate. If you blow a BAC that is above the legal limit the IID will record it as a violation. If a violation occurs the individual’s license will be revoked for 1 year and if an additional violation occurs the individual’s driving privileges will be revoked for 5 years. It is illegal to have someone else blow into your IID in order to pass the test. If you are required to use an IID to operate a vehicle or have violated your conditions, you should hire an Escambia County criminal defense lawyer who can help you fight for the outcome you need.


The Law Office of James M. Burns helps people through various legal issues, including those involving criminal law, family law, personal injury law, and will & probate law. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation.