If a person has been convicted of grand theft in Florida, then that individual was deemed to have stolen at least $300 worth of property.
In Florida, grand theft is charged as a felony. The grade of the felony depends on the value of the property stolen or the type of property stolen. A felony classification could range from third to a first degree.
Thus, committing grand theft does not pay. Stealing an object valued at $400 could get you a $5,000 fine and a potential five-year Florida State Prison sentence.
Theft crimes, also known as crimes of dishonesty, make up a large majority of both the crimes committed in Pensacola and throughout the entire state of Florida.
Attorney for Grand Theft Charges in Pensacola, FL
If you or someone you know has been convicted of a theft crime in Florida Panhandle, it is imperative to find an experienced defense attorney to fight for your legal rights.
Grand theft is a serious charge that could potentially have life-altering consequences. Finding an experienced defense attorney can save you from having a mark on your criminal record.
Schedule a consultation with The Law Office of James M. Burns by calling (850) 457-6002 to help you defend your theft charge. The Law Office of James M. Burns has for years practiced law in Pensacola and Perdido Key, in Escambia County; Milton, Pace, and Navarre in Santa Rosa County; and Fort Walton Beach in Okaloosa County.
Little do most know, first-time offenders most often commit theft crimes. Speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney to learn more about your rights and the consequences of a full conviction.
Find a knowledgeable Escambia County attorney at The Law Office of James M. Burns to fight you. With experience defending a variety of different theft crimes and crimes of dishonesty, The Law Office of James M. Burns will ensure you a solid defense.
Contact The Law Office of James M. Burns at (850) 457-6002 today for a free consultation.
Overview for Grand Theft in Pensacola, Fl
- What Does It Mean To Be Charged With Grand Theft?
- What Are The Penalties For Conviction?
- What Are The Defenses to Grand Theft?
- Where Can I Learn More About Grand Theft in Florida?
According to Florida Statute § 812.014, an individual can only be convicted of a theft crime if he or she intentionally or knowingly obtains or attempts to obtain another person's property. The theft must be committed with the intention to permanently or temporarily deprive the victim of his or her right to the property, or it must have been committed with the intent to appropriate the stolen object for personal use or possession.
Whether a person is charged with grand theft or petit theft will depend on the value of the stolen property or the type of property stolen. Grand theft, as its name implies, involves stolen property of a larger monetary amount than petit theft, and in turn, the punishments are more severe.
There are three varying degrees of grand theft in the state of Florida: first-degree, second-degree, and third-degree.
If convicted of grand theft, an individual could face from five to up to thirty (30) years in a Florida State Prison. In addition, an individual could be forced to pay thousands of dollars in fines. Below are listed the penalties and general guidelines used in determining a case:
Grand Theft – First Degree
- Value of stolen property exceeds $100,000; or
- Value of stolen Cargo exceeds $50,000; or
- While committing grand theft, property damage exceeded $1,000;
- Punishable by up to 30 years in Florida State Prison and $10,000 fine.
Grand Theft – Second Degree
- Value of stolen property is more than $20,000 but less than $100,000; or
- Value of stolen cargo less than $50,000; or
- Property stolen is emergency medical or law-enforcement equipment valued at $300;
- Punishable by up to 15 years in Florida State Prison and $10,000 fine.
Grand Theft – Third Degree
- Value of stolen property is more than $300 but less than $20,000; or
- The stolen property consists of firearm, codicil, motor vehicle, or fire extinguisher;
- Punishable by up to five years in Florida State Prison and $5,000 fine.
Theft charges in Florida occur more than any other type of crime in Florida. An experienced defense attorney has seen a variety of different grand theft charges, each with their own line of defense. Yet, there are a few, familiar threads of defense to follow in a Florida theft case.
Many people who are charged with theft are first time offenders. Others have only been charged because of a misinterpretation of ownership. Maybe a defendant believed he or she had a right to the property in question. Here are a few common defenses to theft crimes:
- The object taken has no actual value as a property.
- The object was taken by a legal co-owner.
- The object was taken in good faith with no intent to steal.
- The defendant voluntarily abandoned the original intent of theft.
Florida Statute § 812.014 – Visit Online Sunshine, the official website of the Florida Legislature, to learn more about the full statutory language of the general Florida theft statute. The theft statute serves as the primary law for charging most theft crimes or crimes of dishonesty under Florida law.
Neighborhood Scout | Florida Annual Crime – Visit one of the nation's most exhaustive, neighborhood crime statics website. Learn more about crime rates in every city and county in the country.
Crime Rates in Pensacola – Visit a Floridian crime statistic website, areavibes, to look into isolated crime city by city. Read more into Pensacola crime and learn how it compares to the rest of Florida and the country.
Attorney for Theft Crimes in Escambia County
If you or a loved one in the Pensacola area has been charged with grand theft, finding an experienced defense attorney right away could be key. The Law Office of James M. Burns has faced a numerous amount of theft crimes, fighting for clients as diligently as possible in all of Escambia County.
The Law Office of James M. Burns will ensure your rights are protected in Florida court, not stopping until a verdict has been reached. The benefits of defending yourself with the help of an extremely knowledgeable theft crimes attorney last forever. Do not let your criminal record be marked without a fight.
The Law Office of James M. Burns takes theft crime cases in all of Escambia County; the cities of Navarre, Pace, and Milton in Santa Rosa County; and Fort Walton Beach in Okaloosa County.
Contact The Law Office of James M. Burns today at (850) 457-6002 for a free consultation.
- Theft Crimes