- The Law Office of James M. Burns
- Get legal help when accused of driving under the influence
Get legal help when accused of driving under the influence
Drunk driving charges carry serious penalties with them, even if the violation is your first-such offense. In the state of Florida, there are many different penalties you could face for a first-time DUI. For example, your vehicle could be impounded and your license suspended. And we also haven't yet mentioned the jail time, fines, ignition interlock and other penalties that could be thrown at you.
More specifically, the DUI laws in the state of Florida for first time offenders stipulate a maximum of six months in jail (though there is no minimum jail time, meaning you could avoid it). The fine for the offense is at least $500 and could go as high as $1,000. Your license would be suspended for at least six months, though that could increase to one year.
But these penalties are just for the basics of a DUI charge. Depending on your blood alcohol content (BAC) when the police pulled you over, the penalties could be harsher. The higher your BAC, the more likely it is that your punishment will be worse. For example, if your BAC exceeds 0.15 then the maximum jail time you could receive is nine months.
With so much on the line in a DUI case -- including your future prospects, your ability to transit from place to place, and your financial well-being -- it is crucial to talk about your case with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible. At The Law Office of James M. Burns, we can help you with your drunk driving or drugged driving charges.