- The Law Office of James M. Burns
- How are assault and battery charges dealt with in Florida?
How are assault and battery charges dealt with in Florida?
In the state of Florida, when someone harms another person and/or has the intent to harm another person, then the charges filed are assault, battery or both. Assault is when someone has the intent to harm someone or makes someone fear that they will be harmed. Battery is when actual physical contact is made, inflicting harm on another person.
Assault and battery charges are very serious, but they also come in many forms. For assault, there are two primary charges:
- Simple assault is a second degree misdemeanor. It can lead to a fine of up to $500 and no more than 60 days in jail.
- Aggravated assault is a third degree felony. It can lead to up to five years in jail, as well as a maximum fine of $5,000.
Battery also comes in different forms, and they are:
- Simple battery is a first degree misdemeanor. The possible consequences are up to a year in jail and a fine up to $1,000.
- Felony battery is a third degree felony and has the same potential consequences as aggrvated assault (up to five years in jail, up to $5,000 in fines)
- Aggravated battery is a second degree felony. The possible consequences for such a charge are up to 15 years in prison and fines up to $10,000.
Each and every charge has a possible defense, and anyone who is accused of these serious crimes needs to consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
Source: FindLaw, "Florida Assault and Battery Laws," Accessed March 27, 2017