Larceny is referred to the unlawful taking of personal property from its rightful owner. Essentially, larceny is also known as theft. If you are charged with theft in Florida, you can face severe consequences if you are convicted. Because of this, it is in your best interest to seek legal representation from a Pensacola theft crime lawyer as soon as possible after your arrest. Our legal team is on your side no matter what.
How does Florida law define larceny?
You can be charged with theft in the state of Florida if you knowingly obtain or use or try to obtain or use another person’s property with the intent to:
- Deprive the rightful owner of the property.
- Seize the property for your own use or for the use of another party that is not legally entitled to the property.
Whether you plan on permanently keeping the stolen property or eventually giving it back to its rightful owner, it is still regarded as theft either way.
How are theft crimes classified in Florida?
Theft crimes are deemed by the value and type of property that was stolen. If you are accused of theft, you may be charged with the following:
- Grand Theft of the First Degree
- Grand Theft of the Second Degree
- Grand Theft of the Third Degree
- Petit Theft of the First Degree
- Petit Theft of the Second Degree
What is grand theft of the first degree?
First-degree grand theft is typically the most serious theft charge recognized in the state of Florida. You can face grand theft of the first degree charges if:
- The stolen property was valued at more than $100,000, or
- The property is a semitrailer used by law enforcement officers, or
- The property is cargo that is valued at more than $50,000, or
- You commit any type of grand theft and in the course of doing so, use a motor vehicle to cause more than $1,000 in property damage.
What is Grand Theft of the Second Degree?
You can face grand theft of the second-degree charges if:
- The value of the stolen property is $20,000 or more, but less than $100,000.
- The stolen property is cargo that is valued at less than $50,000.
- The stolen property is emergency medical or law enforcement equipment with a value of over $300 that was taken from an emergency medical or law enforcement vehicle.
- This crime is classified as a second-degree felony. If you are convicted of this crime, you can face up to 15 years in prison as well as substantial fines.
CONTACT OUR EXPERIENCED PENSACOLA FIRM
The Law Office of James M. Burns helps people through various legal issues, including those involving criminal law, family law, personal injury law, and will & probate law. Contact us today to schedule your initial consultation.